The Twelfth Window

April 19, 2009

Chapters 52 Through 56 — The Twelfth Window

Filed under: Between The Lines — jmnorwood @ 7:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m moving fast today!  We have just eleven chapters left to cover after this… roughly three more blog posts to go and then I hope that the Lord will let me get into writing my next book, which will be a follow-up to The Twelfth Window.  Let’s get started…

Chapter 52 was painful to write because I had to summon all sorts of painful thoughts to put it together.  Those who have read the story have all told me that this chapter took them completely by surprise.  Well, it takes the characters in the story by surprise as well.  Chapter 52 contains references to Luke 12:50, Luke 22:41-44, John 12:27, Luke 23:35-37 and 39.  I meant to show what the twelve apostles of Jesus were expecting… they were in the holiest place on the holiest day of the year after having watched Jesus triumphal entry into the city… everything was going their way.    As normal, I discovered why I was lead to make certain plot points and symbols.  In this chapter, if you look hard enough, are the complete key elements both spiritual and temporal, of the Easter Triduum.  I’ll give you some hints:  the sports car is silver, and its description comes after Michael drinks a cup of tea after praying.   The italicized paragraphs show what I believe the angelic POV must have been.   To me, the most beautiful part of Chapter 52 is the unwitting use of the Jewish Daiyenu prayer as regards what Jesus Christ did for us.

Chapter 53… no explanation necessary.

Now, Chapters 54 through 56 are purely spiritual.  #54 comes from an experience that I had when I was about eleven.   Since there are precious few verses describing Heaven, I had to go with personal experiences and speculations.  My editor said #54 creeped her out.  Can’t say it didn’t creep me out either!  #55 means to show how bits of life creep into dreams, which is why the diner looks different and yet the same, to show how time ceases to exist in the eternal, and honors how Jesus said that He would build us a dwelling in Heaven to be with Him.

I love Chapter 56, personally.  I love the whole story of The Twelfth Window but #56 touches me still, two years on.  Chapter 56 contains Revelation 7:14-16, Revelation 19:7-9.   I really love this chapter.  One meaning I will reveal is that those corny, oily-looking, badly-dressed men and women who may have been your FAITHFUL Sunday school teachers, CCD instructors, or hosts of badly-filmed religious educational material will definitely in Heaven be seen as the surpassingly beautiful people they are for having taken the time to increase the Kingdom.  Notice how Michael’s expression changes from merry–acknowledging Lisa’s surprise, to solemn–acknowledging a good and faithful servant who has entered the joy of paradise.

Well!  I’ve made it to Chapter 57 already.    There are no more spiritual/italic chapters in the rest of the story… but there is a reason for this, as you will see if you pick up a copy of The Twelfth Window, available online on many, many sites.  Like www.authorhouse.com 🙂

–J.M. Norwood

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.